Generic Genox vs Tamoxifen Sandoz Brand

4.5 weeks into taking Tamoxifen, I popped into the chemist to stock up in anticipation of running out of tamoxifen. After the usual waiting around forever while the pharmacist practiced the mysterious rites, she came over to apologise as they were out of the generic brand. Did I mind buying the more expensive original brand?

Given I’d thought I had bought the original brand I was quite surprised. Turned out I’d been issued the generic stuff last time. Hm. I assumed all would be exactly the same given the identical amount of the active agent in the two meds. But not so. Since starting the Tamoxifen Sandoz my hot flushes have reduced significantly in severity and a little bit in frequency. What a pleasant surprise. I’m not sure if this is some placebo effect or there are others who have experienced the same but it is a delightful surprise either way.

20130512-202727.jpg

Leave a comment